Repair

IMG_20170728_132640767

I am intrigued by this quote. Little One and I found it today on a mosaic bench in the garden of the Thelma Hulbert gallery.

We had spent an unexpected, peaceful hour looking around the Evolver Prize exhibition and playing with oil pastels in the cafe.  It repairs something in me to take time to enter Little One’s sensory world.  Her favourite painting had row upon row of tiny details in watercolour – dogs, cats and birds hidden among the busy gardeners Emma Burleigh: The Ashley Vale Allotments

My drawing took on a familiar shape. Lines of blue-toned pastels forming an almost complete circle, arching back and wisping away.  This wave-like shape has appeared many times as I paint in the solace of psychiatric hospital art rooms. Repair. The same icon, a completely different space.

I still don’t see myself as an artist, perhaps a creative.  There is repair in the words I type, the inner journey I write about.

My favourite artwork was Donna Peek: In Search of the Divine State  Encased in each capsule of the oval pill-packet were miniscule Russian dolls.  In the opposite packet were icons of womanhood.  It made me think a lot.

Each day I press three different shaped tablets out of their blisters and into a pill dispenser.  There’s energetic Venlafaxine, somnolent Olanzapine and, moderating it all, Lamotrigine.  A lot of fine-tuning of life, work, screen-time and dosages is needed to keep things in a good state.  The “Divine State” was tempting all those years ago… but steady is better.  Steady allows for repair.

Leave a Reply

