The first day

The first day you curled your fingers around mine

I knew I would go to the ends of the earth for you

Instead I glimpsed heaven

Before descending to the bottom of the sea

The dark salty water pressed in, shipwrecks beckoned

But your fingers still curled around mine

Your blue eyes told me that the sky was above

I saw a flash of mermaid’s tail

Kicked the tangled seaweed from my feet

And swam with all my strength towards the sun

We stood together on the shore

You curled your fingers around mine and took your first step

 

Leave a Reply

