The seagull and the lily

A peace lily sits on an unfamiliar windowsill

The room is agonisingly bare

Beneath my spine the plastic undersheet wrinkles

Where are You?

Outside in the courtyard a mosaic seagull soars

I send messages in his beak to my baby girls

I look in the mirror while I sip the elderflower cordial

And say to my unbelieving face, “you are Loved”


An arum lily sits on my dressing table

Framed by my Mother’s Day cards

I can hold you both and I can tell you, “you are Loved”

Outside the seagulls call to each other

And soar above the clouds

Maybe You are there

I’ve written this poem in honour of World Bipolar Day 2015.  Strength for today and hope for tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

